Terrence Howard pointed out on one of his tracks that ‘in every relationship there is this factor
of least interest involved, meaning the person least interested maintaining it will
dominate it ‘cause they won’t compromise’. That statement rang true when I was
watching one of MTV’s reality shows ‘being Ryan’ following the life of a young
18year skateboard pro ‘Ryan’. Ryan,
after dreaming of the perfect girl finally got her and started his first ever
relationship but then it all got too much for him and he broke it off. Her
flaw? She was too interested and put in much more than he did into making their
relationship work and instead of compromising or reciprocating, he broke it off.
His excuse? He was too young to start
thinking about how to keep her as happy as she kept him; more or less. So it ended in the most famous relationship break-up cliché; it’s not you, it’s me…I don’t deserve
you...you’re too good for me. I say bullshit, you’re just not interested.
How interested is too interested? You may think you are mature,
you don’t play games, you know what you want and you go for it. News flash; the
world is full of sorrowful people and the heart of man is naturally evil. It
takes only the brave to receive in good faith kindness for no reason. When you’re
extremely good to another individual put aside lovers for now, they become
scared and they start to wonder what it is you truly want. The average human
heart wants something in return for anything they give. So if you’re giving and
giving and still giving, you will put the other party on edge. Back to
lovers; this is why you shouldn’t put all your cards on the table at once; it
scares your lover away, if you claim to be as mature as you proclaim you would
know that you should always give your lover little enough for he/she to want
more so that he /she don’t get bored too quickly and so that they long to know what more
you have in store.
I have painfully witnessed a lot of very good guys get
turned down over and over again not because of anything but the fact that they
are 'too good'. This statement should
not be misconstrued, am not saying you shouldn’t be good, all I am saying is
there is time for everything. There are some things you’re not obliged to do at
the start of any relationship, always give time and space enough for the other
person to appreciate you. For instance why would a girl miss you when you never
stop calling, texting, visiting, face-booking, skyping, emailing, re-tweeting
her tweets, liking her instagram pictures, yahoo messaging her, all in one day?
Unfortunately, when she starts avoiding you, you go into you mood and start
acting the victim, disturbing her with questions like 'why do good girls like bad boys'? She doesn’t give a hoot about why
good girls like bad boys… she just wants to breathe, is that ok with you? It’s like everywhere she turns, you are there,
be easy with it, let her fall smoothly into the comfort of your company.
It is also really sad when girls have it all wrapped up in
their heads that they are ‘wife material’ and therefore all they live for is
act out the wife role. Why? Does it make any sense acting wife when you are
still single with no boyfriend? Are you trying to jump before you scrawl? To
make it even worse all the friends you classify ‘whore material’ are getting married everyday leaving you brawling
with tears each time you open your Facebook page. It’s a wonder how you the
wife have not quite gotten to being the wife yet. Why would you meet a guy
today and start selling yourself like you are on the money market? In your
thirty minutes conversation, he already knows you are a fantastic cook, all the
outing you do is church outing, you refuse to have many friends as you claim
they influence you, you are clean to a fault and the market is your favourite sports
centre. Next day you’re cooking in his kitchen, before he comes back from the
local shop down the road, you have wiped his house clean, re-arranged his living
room, set his table ready for food. Who told you there was a wife job opening at his house? The truth is it’s not being superwoman that qualifies you good
enough to be his wife. I know a few women who don’t even cook and they are
married happily, you enter some women’s houses and you can’t even find a place
to sit because they are so untidy but they are happily married. Now you can
cook, clean and look fly all at the same time but you also have to remember, little
drops of water make a mighty ocean.
In a relationship, you are not out to impress anybody, taking
it one stride at a time, enjoying it while it last and not giving all yourself
all at once is what makes it work. You
should always live some in the bag for insurance purposes, that reservoir will
save you a spot on the wagon that will journey you down the aisle.


said it to my boo a while back
ReplyDeletehe/she who loves less holds the aces
he disagreed........
told him hes entitled to his opinion as i am entitled to mine.........
Lol...tell him to do some research, he'll come back with a different opinion.
DeleteI always say that too much of anything is bad. Excessive attention and desperation to prove how valuable you are ill always backfire. Its sad that many people do it repeatedly and never learn from the errors of others.
ReplyDeleteI watched one of my course mates in the university (who was supposedly born again) do the 'wifey' thing to try hook down this dude. Eventually, the guy used her, just had endless sex with her and abandoned her just some months to graduation...he was just seizing the opportunity of free food, home care and sex!
Ha! This is so common amongst Naija international masters students in Uk. They always, always always doing that. Funny though it's always with girls in church. I've seen it happen too many times.
DeleteHa! I av seen this happen time and time again amongst Naija masters student in the Uk. It's just something they do and it is always with church girls. It's really funny.
ReplyDeleteYep! Who needs straight on heavy in a new relationship? People should stop having desperado written on their foreheads.
ReplyDeletelol. as in...
DeleteLol. true talk!!
ReplyDeleteso true.
DeleteThis is so true. Word! Word! word!
ReplyDeletelazioman.blogspot.com
lets go check out your blog
DeleteOMG! Yes! Yes! Yes! I should probably forward this to a friend. He keeps doing all he can to get a girl's attention and she isn't feeling him as much right now which makes him complain but i've told him, only do what makes you happy. Don't do it because of her and don't get mad because she's not in the same place or wavelength as you. Sometimes, let her miss you and let her breathe. He claims he is not in love with her yet but he pings her every hour of the day and gets mad when she doesn't reply. I have told him to let her breathe. You can't demand that kinda attention from a friend who isn't your bestie, girlfriend or wife. Even if they are all three, you should still allow them to have a life. Go easy or you'll scare her off. Just do you and wait...if it's meant to be, it will be.
ReplyDeletetointamato...how now? not only forward it. give him the link too. howz it going?
DeleteThis was a great post!
ReplyDelete~Sherine
Confessions Of A City Girl
thx ma'am!
DeleteGreat post
ReplyDeletehttp://trendysturvs.blogspot.com
Thanks B
DeleteI don't know whether to laugh or cry, haha. It's so true...I feel like I'm reading a Nollywood script. Awesome post! :D
ReplyDelete